Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO)

Popular Terms
An intergovernmental regional organization that was set up by Iran, Pakistan, and Turkey in 1985. Its purpose was to provide and promote economic, cultural, and technical cooperation throughout Member States. During 1992, the organization had been expanded to also include Islamic Republic of Afghanistan, Republic of Azerbaijan, Republic of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Republic of Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Republic of Uzbekistan. The organization is funded by member donations and has been involved in several priority projects including trade, energy, transportation, agriculture, and the control of drugs.

Email Print Embed