business tax

Popular Terms
Five major types of business taxes are: (1) corporate franchise tax, (2) employment (withholding) tax, (3) excise tax, (4) gross-receipts tax, and (5) value added tax (VAT). Some types of firms (such as insurance, mining, and petroleum extraction companies) pay additional taxes peculiar to their industries. While firms too pay income, property, and sales taxes, such taxes are not specific to businesses. In terms of economic impact, however, all taxes are 'people taxes' because they affect human beings and not some abstraction labeled 'business.' Also called business activity tax.

Email Print Embed

Mentioned in These Terms